Active Schools

Hockey Festival 2019

"What did you do after school today?"

"The Archery club visited the school and I shot an arrow for the first time - I loved it!"

The Active Schools team in Shetland is committed to creating opportunities for young people to try new activities and find a passion in physical activity. We know that keeping active throughout life does much more than maintain physical health – it improves mental wellbeing, confidence, self-esteem and educational attainment. It can also create lifelong friendships as well as learning and leadership opportunities.

The Active Schools team is part of a national network which motivates and inspires young people to get active and stay active. We give children these opportunities by working with teachers, schools and club coaches but mostly we rely on the invaluable help of volunteers. Our volunteers play a crucial role in the success of all Active Schools initiatives. This develops pathways between sport clubs and other community organisations, enabling pupils to continue their participation in sport outside the school gates.

As well as keeping busy creating links with sports clubs and developing extra-curricular opportunities for pupils to keep active, the team also get involved with several curriculum time activities. These include Bikeability Levels 1 and 2 (Level 2 you may recognise as ‘Cycling Proficiency’), a variety of Leadership programmes, Young Ambassadors, Wider Achievement, inter-school competitions and School Sport Awards among others.

Meet the Team

Name Area Contact
Louise Johnson-Active Schools Manager   louise.johnson2@shetland.gov.uk
Linda Thomson-Active Schools Coordinator North Isles linda.thomson@shetland.gov.uk
Danny Peterson-Active Schools Coordinator North Mainland and Whalsay danny.peterson@shetland.gov.uk
Jacqui Murray-Active Schools Coordinator West Mainland and Sound jacqui.murray@shetland.gov.uk
Sanna Aitken-Active Schools Coordinator Nesting,Tingwall, Scalloway, Hamnavoe, Bell's Brae and AHS sanna.aitken@shetland.gov.uk
Jennifer Thomson-Active Schools Coordinator South Mainland jennifer.thomson@shetland.gov.uk
Lesley Spence-Sport and Physical Activity Officer Targeted work (mainly central region) lesley.spence@shetland.go.uk